What’s it worth to you?

What makes it worth the work? Whoa, when you say that, I think I could cut some clutter and chaos in my life pretty quickly. I got to rub elbows with some pretty smart thinkers this week at TEDxKC (part of TED-check out some of their amazing archives of videos and speakers) and this was one of my favorite discussions for the night. It just seems to fit with my theme for this week of setting goals, making priorities, and managing a busy schedule. It does take a lot of work to keep my body strong, my mind and spirit healthy, and to find pleasure in my job and school. However, when I’m able to climb mountains, run with my dog, find peace when I sleep and happiness when I rise, be happy with my body, and have meaningful relationships with those I love, the work is worth it all. I think this is a good phrase to remember when setting goals to help make them a bit more meaningful and realistic. For me, when I see pictures of goals I’ve achieved, I’m reminded how temporary moments of misery are worth it later. Here’s how some of my work has been worth it all……

What’s a goal you’re wanting to do that’s worth the work?

Leave a Reply

